John Black series – recommended reading order

The John Black series consists of four full-length novels and four short stories (eventually). The short stories have been written so that you can ignore them completely, or read them after finishing all the novels for some additional insight and backstory. However, if you want to flow through the complete story arc the way it was originally intended, here is the recommended reading order:

Of that list, only the last one, “Cloak of Black, Mantle of Sorrow,” a short story from Holly Black’s perspective, is not yet released. I’ll be releasing this final short story as a coda to the entire series available exclusively within the box set of all the books. Expected released date for the box set with this bonus (last) short story is October 2018.